Longing for You

Prince S J Webber
2 min readDec 12, 2021

Each & everyday longing to be near You

More & more

finding myself searching for your beloved face down those hallowed hallways, groves & corridors.

With those expressively attentive eyes so full of meaning tenderness & passionately devoted looks; reminds my heart of sun-bathed ponds gentle streams & ever flowing brooks.

Wishing that my fingers were entangled in your long dark & fragrant hair with your rose colored lips closely whispering my name & offered like a prayer;

Your baby bath smell

as I cling upon its essence never wanting to let go, as my knees become weak & the blood begins to flow

in the knowing that in another time & place

You would be mine to love

in another time & place

you would be in my arms to hold.

I wish, I were in that time & place forsaken by the here & now

where the pleasures & desires longed for cannot be & sorrow is left to be explored.

Today, there are only passions without meaning, flirting glances without purpose, desires without ever touching & ccome-hither stares with teasing in the watching you playing with your long dark hair;

Leaving me in an ending that is not only cruel cold but lonely in a job left undone well; boosting your egos of egos.

My Spirit mercifully dead from longing

to be unable to leave it alone, let it be, accept that it is so & drain my blood cold of You like ice driven free of warmth from my very veins.

You see me not, but pitty my loneliness & the bond with you that is broken slashes away at both wrists & all grows bitterly silent

in your rhetorical snobbishness

cooling a passionate heart through a piercing joke of being admirable for the sake of justifiable cruelty.

The egocentric desire to let one down easy without remorse in its unidentifiable reasons for letting go

Of what You yourself have awakened in the deceptive amusement that feast upon a tender heart

with more love than hate, with more love than hate …

Striking at those emotional chords of my Soul with indifference as loneliness burns open the callous scars of emptiness unable to go free in the knowing that One was never ever Truly wanted at the Soulmate Traveler’s Inn.

(11/05/2002)

--

--